S’more Cookies!

I can’t really believed this happened. I was going to make some classic chocolate chip cookies, but I only had five tablespoons of butter and no chocolate chips. Uggghhhh, why don’t you ever have the ingredients you need?? So, I was all geared up and ready to go to the store on my bike. Jacket on…shoes on…purse on…but I just really didn’t want to leave! So, I took everything off and moped into the kitchen. If I keep opening the cupboard, chocolate chips are bound to appear, right? Wrong. They never did. What did I see, though? Cocoa powder, graham crackers, and marshmallows. Light bulb, baby! I was immediately on a mission to invent the s’more cookie. I did. No big. Oh, wait…biiiiig friggin’ deal.

S’MORE COOKIE:

Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes

Makes twelve, 3″ cookies

Dough:

Combine:

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar (packed)

5 tbs butter (room temp)

Add:

1 cup flour

1/4 cup dark cocoa powder

1/2  tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

Mix until combined, and roll into about 1.5″ balls.

Graham Cracker Coating:

1 egg white

1 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs

Slightly whisk one egg white in a bowl, and use to coat the dough balls. Fill another bowl with graham cracker crumbs and roll each cookie until covered.

Place each covered dough ball on a cookie sheet and indent with a teaspoon (or anything about that size…).

Bake for about ten minutes, and then repress with a tablespoon. The indent will go away while in the oven, but a quick press right when taken out will fix that up!

Once cooled, make up your marshmallow goo! Now, I’m sure some of you are scoffing at me for not making my own goo, but I didn’t have the ingredients for it, and I had marshmallows. Get over it.

Marshmallow Goo:

10 marshmallows (normal sized)

2 tbs sweetened condensed milk

On a low heat, place the marshmallows and sweetened condensed milk into a small saucepan. Keep and eye on it so it doesn’t burn! Mix until smooth and pourable.

Pour about one teaspoon of goo into each cookie.

Boom! Try and tell me you don’t feel like you’ve instantly been transported to a campfire. You can’t. And if you can, you didn’t make them right.

One response

  1. Wow, these look really good. I didn’t know you were so good at something! Make me the vegan version.

Leave a comment